The Student Council Elections

Every year in May the Student Council elections take place. As a student at this university you have two votes. Your first vote applies to the Faculty Student Council and your second vote to the Central Student Council. This year the elections will take place from the 9th of May until the 13th of May. An entire week you will be faced with all sorts of people campaigning for themselves or their party at our campus.

During this week you can cast your vote on the following website:

What is the Student Council?

The Student Council (FSR) consults with the Dean of the Faculty on behalf of the students about Faculty policy in general and student matters in particular. It is both a consultative body and a lobby group, and has considerable powers to influence the policy followed by the Dean of the Faculty. The most important of these are the right to consultation and the power of veto. The FSR can also take its own initiatives. It must clearly communicate the wishes of students to the Dean of the Faculty, which in turn means that it must stay in close contact with them. Consultations with the Dean of the Faculty are conducted both formally and informally.

The Faculty’s Student Council has ten members, who are elected annually. Unless otherwise resolved, its meetings are held in public. One member of the Student Council also sits on the Central Student Council (CSR). This consults with the Board of Governors on behalf of all the students in the University. In this way, the interests of students are represented at the highest level within the institution. Meetings with the Board address aspects of University policy.

Student Parties

At our faculty there will be two different parties running for the Student Council. As every party has different ideals and goals for the upcoming year it is important that you inform yourself before making a decision. You can find more information about each party on their website. The following parties are running in this year’s election:

UvA Sociaal:

  1. Mourad Farahat
  2. Tufan Kiziltekin
  3. Tijmen de Vos
  4. Raffaele Di Carlo

List Sefa:

  1. Toma Cerniauskaite
  2. Aleksandr Tikhonov
  3. Atma Jyoti Mahapatra
  4. Eline Keemink
  5. Daan Willers
  6. Victor Oprea
  7. Mink Perrée
  8. Rinus van Grunsven
  9. Floortje Merten
  10. Yoeri Min
  11. Lodewijk Henneveld
  12. Nicole Sjouwerman
  13. Anniek Schepers
  14. Olivier Thé
  15. Tim Leijten

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *

Deze website gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.